In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote.

What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions

The younger population constitutes a major proportion of the democratic world. In many countries, juveniles are ignorant of their basic democratic right such as vote casting. This essay will suggest that the primary problem this cause is approval of policies against the favor of youth, and public awareness campaign as the most viable solution.

The main problem of not taking part in elections process is it takes young people to a plight because political parties and representatives tend to support the people, who vote and support these candidates in their elections. This is to say, they are more likely to raise their voice in favor of their elder supporters, such as better pension plans and health benefits. For example, in Bangladesh, 44% of the young population does not cast vote in recent elections which results in failure of up-dated education system because of the lack of focus of state-runners towards people who do not vote for them.

A solution to this predicament is public awareness campaigns by the election candidates on media, in schools, and on work-places, in which younger generation can get acquaintance with the possible dangers of not using their basic rights. In these publicity campaigns, political parties should present their manifesto, which must mention the future policies related to the betterment of young people. For example, a similar initiative was taken in Japan, during door-to-door campaign, they include offices, schools, and colleges and educate them which results in 70% rise in youth turn out in very next elections.

To conclude, young adults, are unaware of the repercussions about not voting for the right candidate, which cause a focus shift from young public to the elderly, due to this they could be deprived of their rights, which can be addressed by educating young ones about the risks associated with this