Some educational systems make students study specialized subjects from the age of fifteen while others require students to study a wide range.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Many educational reformers today incline towards a narrower curriculum for students 15 and older. In my opinion, while this is part of a decidedly modern movement for early specialisation, a wide range of knowledge serves as a basis for more well-adjusted adults.

Limiting subjects from the age of 15 onwards can allow for greater focus. It is not uncommon for many children to choose one musical instrument or participate in a single sport from the beginning of grade school. The rationale is that more time spent in one domain inevitably leads to mastery and this is supported by research into the importance of practice for elite performers. There are many famous examples of individuals who focused from their teenage years onwards and found success such as The Beatles’ band members with music and Steve Jobs with computer technology. Fewer subjects after age 15 is therefore one way to safeguard a child’s future.

However, the famous examples above are belied by the bulk of research that shows, for the majority of individuals, a wide range of skills and interests is a better predictor of future success. Studies have overwhelmingly shown that varied skills allow for increased creativity and a more even temperament. The average high school student must study obviously useful subjects such as math and various disciplines of science but also take music, art, home economics, and choose their own electives. They may never become professional musicians but opening up that side of their brain can help them be more creative in another field and feel their education is well-rounded. Without dabbling in these allegedly useless subjects they might feel harnessed to a single career and purpose, unable to exercise autonomy over their own life.

In conclusion, studying a range of subjects after the age of 15 leads to better results in general. A complete syllabus furnishes happier individual citizens and contributes to a richer overall society