Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gym or sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in so doing.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the cutthroat-competitive world, we are submerged with umpteen responsibilities that we hardly get time for physical exercise. Sound health plays an indispensable role in our life and work performance. However, the bone of contention here is whether employers offer their employees subsidize gyms or club membership or not. I will shed light on both the views and give my perspective.

To begin with, proponents have opined that gyms or sports club subsidy offered by employers brings the mental fitness and wellness. Moreover, exercise is a prerequisite for optimal work performance. To epitomize, sportive people take fewer sick leaves leading to the least disruption to daily operation in their workplace. Furthermore, it helps to build team spirit and ameliorate interpersonal skills. In addition, sports club aid by companies will implicitly convey to employees that employers do care about the wellness of their team alongside profit-making. Perhaps, they will pay extra effort at work if they are valued.

Conversely, opponents have opined that organizations should focus on incentives that merely matter to workers such as pay increments, job satisfaction, low workload, free child education, holidays, and job appraisal. Additionally, motivation also plays a key role to excel their performance. For example, studies show that staff works more dedicated when they are motivated and awarded rather than having facilities like gyms.

To conclude, I believe that gyms or sports clubs membership is one aspect to induce employees. Albeit a plethora of other monetary, non-monetary, tangible, and intangible rewards are more useful to promote productivity at work