Some people argue that higher taxes should be collected from industries causing higher pollution. Whereas others argue that there are better ways to deal with it. Discuss both the views and give opinion.

Environment is not a national asset. It is shared responsibility of one and all. Some of the people believe that huge taxes should be levied on industries as they creating more pollution whereas others opined that a myriad of practical fixes exist exit for this issue. I will shed some light on both the views and then give my opinion.

On the positive side, taxes should be collected from industries as they create a lot of pollution in the terms of noise, air etcetera as compared to others such as households. Nowadays most industries dispose of their waste directly into a pond or river, consequently, water get polluted and will be no longer hygienic for drinking. By imposing heavy taxes, pollution can be controlled up to some extent as they will become more careful in future. Moreover the smoke coming out of chimneys also creates air pollution. For example the Taj Mahal‘s white marble has changed its color to yellow due to the pollution created by nearby industries. Therefore government should be imposed taxes to overcome it, as otherwise they will kill national heritage.

On the other hand instead of collecting taxes, industries should be bound to set up pollution control equipment. As higher taxes increase only the product prices which is ultimately at the end bared by the consumers. Moreover government should define some restricted areas where industries should be banned such as households. In addition pollution control standards can be fixed and regularly checked by officials. On the violation, high penalty can be imposed.

To sum up, I pen down saying that, although there are plethora of reasons for imposing high taxes on industries but it is not a pragmatic approach. As huge taxes only add the government and its official’s personal property not fix the pollution. According to me, instead of taxes, pollution control fixes should be taken into consideration before the clouds on horizon turned into perfectly storm.