These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

In recent years, there has been a decline in the number of people who would like to work as teachers. Some educators state that their work has become difficult as students are unmotivated and they have to deal with issues regarding the behaviour of their pupils. Other people that could become teachers prefer to work in other industries unrelated to education. In this essay, the problems influencing the decrease in teachers will be analyzed and the solutions will be presented.

The main reason why young people choose to work in other industries is that they can not express themselves. Firstly, teachers' wages are rather low compared with the salaries earned in other jobs that require outstanding qualifications. Therefore, some people might not be able to afford to survive on a teacher's salary. The solution to this issue could be to increase the funding of education at the national level. Secondly, educators are not respected by their pupils. This is caused by increasing the rights of students and not enforcing their responsibilities. Thus, lots of students behave badly and humiliate teachers. The key approach could be to formulate and apply means of the enforcement of children's responsibilities. After implementing both solutions, teachers would earn more money and feel respected.

Another major cause of the declining number of teachers is that teachers feel that their subjects are not important for some students. That is to say, they have to work with lots of unmotivated pupils. As a consequence of this, instead of being able to focus on their main responsibilities they have to deal with the behavioural issues of schoolchildren. However, it can be difficult for introverted teachers and people who are generally not used to arguing with others. This issue could be addressed by allowing students to choose to study only their favourite subjects. This is already done in some private schools. Finally, teachers could work with students who are eager to gain knowledge of their subject.

In conclusion, the most pressing issues regarding teachers' work were analyzed and some possible solutions were presented. In my opinion, our society should embrace these solutions. Otherwise, there is a high probability that only the worst specialists will work in education and after some time youth will not be educated as well as they could be.