These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Nowadays, the number of people interested in schooling is decreasing significantly. Some sociologists claim that there are a great deal of reasons behind this negative tendency. However, they don not have the faintest idea of how to cope with this problem. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for that little interest in teaching and propose some possible remedies to this.

Let us start by looking at the reasons why teaching at schools is less appealing. One cause of this low interest in becoming teachers is relatively small paycheck. Take secondary schools in Kazakhstan for example. The majority of students show weak signs of interest in education, because it is not as lucrative as other occupations. Another cause of fewer people wanting to make a living as teachers is ridiculously high workload. In addition to the non-competitive income, young people are unwilling to do teaching for a living, since teachers frequently have to work overtime and, therefore, hardly ever have spare time for relaxation.

Nonetheless, some politicians state that this difficulty can be tackled. They suggest the following steps to take. First of all, the way forward would be to raise the earnings of schoolteachers. more Young students would show larger interest in teaching at secondary schools, provided that the officials increased the salaries. Secondly, another solution is for the government to hire extra teaching assistants. If they take on more helpers for teachers, then it would lead to reduction in the burden of work on teachers, and, as a consequence, they would have more free time either to unwind or spend with their family.

In conclusion, even though there are plenty of factors why a small quantity of young people want to become teachers, I think that it is impossible to make teaching attractive, unless the government take the above-mentioned measures.