Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial issue about the role of vehicles in society. Some businessmen state that they bring more advantages to people, while some pedestrians say that they cause more drawbacks. In this essay, I will consider both pros and cons of automobiles, concluding it with the idea that the benefits of cars outdistance the disadvantages.

Let us start with the positive effects that cars have on human life. The first advantage is that they enable people to complete their plans more effectively. Cars help people to do their daily routines both more successfully and promptly, since people do not have to walk, for example, to the office or university, which used to pose many obstacles, before vehicles had been invented. Another benefit that cars provide comfort to drivers as well as passengers. Car users no longer worry, when it either rains or snows outside, because their vehicles protect them from these unpleasant weather conditions. As a result, they commute to work on time with no need to wear extra clothing.

However, despite these advantages, cars also have many negative sides. Firstly, they constantly need special treatment. Drivers frequently have their vehicles checked, which is quite expensive for most people, if they want to avoid its breaking down on the road unexpectedly. Secondly, vehicles usually cause traffic congestions. A growing number of people use cars everyday, but since most roads have limits in bandwidth, there are many cases of traffic jams in cities, especially in the rush hour. Therefore, cars not only are problematic to people, but they are also disadvantageous to urban areas.

In conclusion, even though vehicles create many problems to humans, I think that the beneficial sides outweigh these problems. Moreover, many people cannot imagine their life without cars, since they heavily rely on them to fulfill their daily plans.