Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about implementing community work in the justice system. Some lawyers claimed that judges should extensively use it making verdicts. This essay agrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that community service is more beneficial for society than confinement. Although the labor market has a balanced between employees and job offers, some workplaces experience a shortage of employees. If the convict with petty crime were allowed to do these jobs for free, then they would benefit the public because their contribution would be voluntary. Furthermore, they can be employed to do low-qualified jobs, including sweeping main streets, painting the fences and picking liter, but only under the supervision of police officers. For example, Karaganda city has become much cleaner and brighter once prisoners started to do community work.

Another reason why voluntary jobs by prisoners should be an option as a verdict is that the convict with minor offences should avoid rub shoulders with more serious criminals. Convicted for the pickpocketing and shoplifting, a prisoner may learn from either serial killers or bank robbers how to commit more serious crimes after the sentence in jail. Thus, it is important to separate them apart instead of imprisoning together by offering community work for minor crimes as a form of penalty. For instance, the police department, in Almaty city, has registered a decreasing number of major crimes as soon as the justice system took unpaid as a penalty for minor crimes in 2018.

However, some prosecutors believe that offenders should not have the opportunity to pay their crimes by doing community work. The main argument for this point of view is that they are more likely to break the law again. They say that criminals should serve their sentence in prison, irrespective the type of the, because prison will help them understand the consequences. Despite this, the government has no funding to build more prisons to accommodate all of them so it is crucial for justice system should exempt some convict from imprisoning.

In conclusion, judges should consider community work as a measure of punishment for minor crimes, since it is profitable for both the public and helpful for some criminals to avoid meeting more serious criminals in jail.