Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree?

Two days ago, I read an article about implementing community work in the justice system. Some lawyers claimed that judges should extensively use it making verdicts. This essay agrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that community service is more beneficial for society than confinement. The labor market has many jobs that experience a shortage of employees. Therefore, if the convict with petty crime had the chance to do a certain job for free instead of imprisoment, then they would benefit the public because their contribution would be voluntary as well as cover unpopular occupations. For example, in karaganda city, the convicted often receive community work, such as sweeping main streets, painting the fences in the park and picking liter in the backyards.

Another reason why unpaid jobs should be an option as a verdict is that the convict with minor offences should not rub shoulders with more serious criminals. Punished for the pickpocketing and shoplifting, a prisoner may learn from either serial killers or bank robbers how to commit more serious crimes after the sentence in jail. Thus, it is important to separate them apart instead of imprisoning together by offering community work for minor crimes as a form of penalty. For instance, the police department, in Almaty city, has registered the number of major crimes as soon as the justice system have taken unpaid as a penalty for minor crimes.

However, some prosecutors believe that offenders should have the opportunity to pay their crimes by doing community work. The main argument for this point of view is that they are more likely to break the law again. They say that criminals should be imprisoned, no matter whether the crime is petty, because prison will help them understand the consequences. Despite this, every convicted should not be sent to prison, as the government would have to build more prisons to accommodate all of them.

In conclusion, judges should consider community work as a measure of punishment for minor crimes, since it is profitable for both the public and helpful for some criminals to avoid meeting more serious criminals in jail.