Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree?

Crime is incessantly augmenting every now and then that it is nowadays, mandatory to put convicted people behind bars. However, some people think that, repercussion of harsh sentences is uncivilized for mild offenders; so, they must be compel to do social services for free. This essay uphold the notion to a greater extent because circumstances made people to do felony; but, brutal criminals should be given strict punishments to set an example for society.

The possible reason to support this notion is that sometimes situation make people to do crime. That is to say that, not all the criminals are born to commit crimes; albeit, some egregious situation patronize them to commit crimes. For example, a teenager steals food from someone to satisfy appetite of starving mother should not be counted as a crime and should be rehabilitated. Moreover, when such criminals are expelled from the society, they would feel isolated which in turn again motivates them to commit crimes. Hence, the argument is substantiated that, some criminal should be indulged in community services.

On the contrary, serious felony should not be ignored and should be given strict punishments to set an example for community. This is because, brutal culprits, who commit premedicayed crime such as murder or rape should not be compelled to do community services, instead should be imprisoned to create fear amidst other criminals. To illustrate, when North Korea gave capital punishment to one of the murderers,the crime ration has drastically decreased in no time. In addition to that, background of the criminals as well as motif of the crime should be checked because such criminals can cause perilous situation, if they are given a second chance. Therefore, not all the offenders should be rehabilitated but some should be imprisoned.

In conclusion, mild-offenders and juveniles should be made to do unpaid services; but, brutal criminals should not be neglected. Furthermore, I agree with the notion that, free social services is the best way to change a criminal into a responsible citizen and it is recommended that, government should take serious steps before such situations to do crimes arise.