Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents due to the fact that their parents are busy working.

To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

There is a controversial issue about the impact that grandparents cause by nurturing children. Some social workers state that it causes negative for the household, while some politicians claim it will be beneficial for it. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of positive effects.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers advocate that child rearing by grandparents benefits the family. The first reason is that it usually allows to build career. Many couples cannot build a career, since they are engaged in parenting, but the retired members can take a responsibility for it, which enables young people to succeed at work. Another reason is that grandparents frequently teach youngsters better. The elderly have more experience than the rest members, so they can share both more wisdom and advice to growing generations. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that child caring by grandparents is a positive trend.

However, some politicians propagate that the nurture by grandparents is detrimental to the family. They justify their opinion with the following reasons. Firstly, they cannot teach children modern lifestyle. Many older people are unaware of contemporary trends, which are important to learn for youngsters, so they cannot fully replace parents in development. Secondly, they are hardly able to care for themselves. Many grandparents are unable to nurture children, since they are both too old and physically incapable, so they cannot entirely substitute parents, no matter how hard they want. As a result, it is rational to say that upbringing by the elderly is a negative tendency.

In conclusion, even though some social workers believe that it has an adverse impact on the family, I think that it is advantageous for all members of family for the above mentioned reasons.