For some people shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

There is a controversial issue about the necessity of purchasing as a sort of amusement. Some social workers think that it is a disadvantageous trend, while some businessmen believe that it is a beneficial development for the economy. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of the positive effect.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers state that shopping for fun is a detrimental tendency. The first reason is that it is a wasteful type of pastime. People often spend too much money, when they go shopping as a leisure activity, because they both visit store frequently and buy unnecessary things, such as another smart phone or expensive dressing. Another reason is that growing generations concentrate on shopping at the expense of education. Students often shift their priority from study to shopping as recreational activity, since they tend to follow popular trends in society, which causes a detrimental impact on their academic performance. Therefore, it is reasonable to label shopping for entertainment as a negative development.

However, some entrepreneurs claim that this type of entertainment is a positive trend for community. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it significantly increases the trade turnover. Stores can sell and then refill more goods from supply, when people visit them more often for pleasure, so it enables customers to fully satisfy their needs as well as businessmen to make bigger profits. Secondly, it generates larger taxes. The more goods shops sell, the more income they generate as tax for the budget, which allows the government to allocate more funding for different social programs. As a result, it is rational to say that shopping for entertainment is a positive effect for the governmental welfare.

In conclusion, even though some social workers advocate that purchasing for amusement has many negative impacts on society, I think that it brings more economical advantages to the whole country for the above mentioned reasons.