In western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

At present, families, who decide not to reproduce, is growing in quantity. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this sort of family.

Let us start with the positive sides of having no descendants. The first advantage is that families can concentrate fully on building a career. Couples can both work harder and achieve more career goals. For instance, in the USA, many married women choose to gain work experience and high salary instead of sitting at home with a child. Another benefit is that families can easily relocate. The absence children in the marriage enables the family members to travel around the world easily and freely. The final advantage is that they can enjoy the life with no parental responsibility. Having no children means for couples to care for solely themselves, which allows them to do what they desire.

Despite the above mentioned merits, it also has many demerits. First of all, aging often causes fertile problems. Many women will find it difficult to get pregnant, when her husband and she decide to have children at a later age. For example, in Kazakstan, many married females resort to artificial fertilization, since they have lost a chance to carry the baby in their twenties. Secondly, some couples will have no one to rely, when they retire. Once they reach retirement, this type of family will live counting only on themselves. The last drawback is that they will never experience the happiness of parenting. The feeling of regret for not having offsprings will gradually grow over time.

In conclusion, marriages without having children have many advantageous and disadvantageous sides.