Some people think that the government should increase spending on defense, but spend less on social benefits.

To what extent do you agree?

Defense system plays an important role in public, because it protects human right. Therefore, some politicians think that more of the budget should be allocated to it, but less to the advantages of society. This essay disagrees with their opinion.

Let us start with reasons why some politicians argue that the public authority should spend more of the budget on military regardless of public benefits. The first reason is that it ensures safety. Many people complain that the crime rate has increased lately, so the government should hire more police officers to secure the order of law. Another reason is that it can give the ability to stop any attempt of external invasion. Governments should satisfy military needs, including purchase of tanks and planes as well as support an enough number of soldiers to repel any attack, shostile neighbors may cross the border and invade. Furthermore, it allows the government to sell weapons. Funding military needs can also provide another source of financing the budget, because many countries are willing to buy different types of weapon abroad.

However, some sociologists believe that the government should focus more on the demands of society than on those of military. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, it enables to open more workplaces. The government should concentrate on the economy rather than on the army, as many people face unemployment and seek jobs to support their families. Secondly, it secures the provision of better health care. The money spent on weapons could go to bring the condition of hospitals to the world standards. In addition, it lets to improve the quality of education. The government could both build more schools and recruit more teachers, so that they can supply labor market with high-qualified graduates.

In conclusion, even though some politicians state that the authorities should give more money to protection at the expense of public programs, I think that social needs are a higher priority.