A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Ensuring the safety of citizens is the primary responsibility of any government. Therefore, many people assert that the government has to allocate more money on safety as compared to community welfare. In my opinion, although it is required to enforce protection laws for the citizenry, investment on social benefits is also crucial.

Public safety and peace has a paramount importance in any nation. In other words, due to global aggression and fights, the lives and properties of many innocent people are affected. If there are no defense laws and associations in the country for safety, the general public has to suffer. Take the Border Security Force of India, for instance, soldiers have been deployed at the various borders of a country and get regular training for any future-related war with the opponent nation. This ensures that there will be no political harm to the state as well as people, which, thereby, assuring peace and protection.

However, government aid is necessary for society-welfare programs. In the developing countries, a significant amount of people are dependent on subsidies, provided by the ministry. To be more specific, the underprivileged people of the nation are depending on government funds, for their necessary commodities such as food, health, and education. Not only this, for the development, the expenditure of the state’s money on infrastructure and employment is vital. According to the article published in The Guardian revealed that in India, the government has allocated about fifty crores of rupees on education and health schemes in the past two years. Hence, the spending of money on societal welfare by the administration cannot be ignored.

In conclusion, while I agree that the state government has to invest some money in defense and security for its individuals, yet the need for investment in social welfare programs cannot be overlooked.