Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

In today's competitive world, employers prefer to keep in touch with the workforce every time regardless of their vacation period. Whilst this development has some positives for the organization, it has more negative impacts on employees, which cannot be overlooked.

Admittedly, there are two potential advantages of maintaining a connection with workers during their off-time. First and foremost, during an emergency, an employer can contact their assistants to fix the situations. As the employee is a valuable asset for a firm, their overtime work can sometimes combat with the downfalls of the company, which consequently increases its productivity. The nurses of medical institutions, for instance, are contacted for urgent operations at a hospital, to aid the patient with the help of doctors, even in their holidays. This would eventually improve the ratings of hospitals, owing to their hardworking staff. Moreover, this connection tends to strengthen the employee-employer relationship. More conversation about work-related issues can not only develop understanding among themselves but also boost the retention of an employee in the company. Thus, the benefits of the afore-mentioned practice cannot be neglected.

Despite the advantages, there are some disadvantages of calling employees during their holiday. Firstly, it is the breaching of their privacy, if they are pressurized to work even at home. In other words, they cannot balance their work-life and personal life appropriately, due to the work-related responsibilities after the regular working hours. Secondly, the continuous stress of the workplace given by their boss will decrease their efficiency as well as health, which ultimately leads to poor performance. The employees of multinational companies are more prone to Insomnia, as they have to work over-time because of the company demands, according to the article published in The Lancet. Finally, the workers are unable to build fruitful relations with their family and loved ones, that will subsequently devastate their life. Hence, the given factors are not proved to be beneficial for employees.

In conclusion, although the connectivity of employers with their workforce even in breaks has some pros for the businesses, yet after analysis, the disadvantages of this practice to the employees, outshine as compare to its advantages. Therefore, workers must finish their work at the workplace instead of taking it home and should give equal importance to their personal life.