Some employers want to be able to contact their staffs at all times even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Recently, a number of bosses are willing to communicate with employees every time even when they are on leave or vacation. This is a welcome development as it helps strengthen teamwork which is the main advantage but has more disadvantages which includes imposing psychological imbalance on the staffs.

On the one hand, communicating with staffs always even when on vacation helps foster team work. What this implies is that even in their absence, the work is not lagging behind or suffering as they can easily be called upon to communicate the necessary information. This helps build a stronger team and inter personal relationships. For instance, the area manager at Healthplus limited which is a retail pharmacy outlet calls the branch manager even when on leave to seek necessary information that is to be sent to investors and this has made the pharmacy the best in Africa.

On the other hand however, contacting employees always especially on holidays can lead to psychological imbalance. This is because sometimes, some individuals may want to unwind and forget about anything work related. They may just want to recuperate and spend family time with families and calling them from work can disorient their thought and may eventually lead to them giving out the wrong information as they are not prepared for work.

In conclusion, the cons of speaking to staffs everyday including on holidays which causes psychological imbalance is more than the proms which is an increase in teamwork.