Some people believe that tourists should accept social and environmental responsibility. To what extent do you agree?

There is a controversial issue about the responsibility of tourists. Some ecologists state that they should take both social and environmental obligations. In this essay, I will agree with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some ecologists propagate that people in other countries should be responsible for local communities and environment. The first reason is that they tend to behave courteously in tourist destinations, if they accept the difference of social aspects. Tourists usually behave with respect to locals, as soon as they accept the culture of the country they visit, no matter how different it may look from what they used to seeing in their home country. Another reason is that they become more eco-friendly. Tourism frequently cause considerable damage to local ecosystem, but as tourists become accountable for local nature, there environmental situation will improve. As a result, when tourists take obligation for the communities and ecological condition of the country they visit, the resentment from local communities will become lower.

However, some businessmen argue that tourists should not made socially as well as environmentally responsible. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, tourists pay for all the discomfort they create to locals. Tourists want to relax in other countries, and any attempts to restrict their desire by these obligations would deter them from visiting that country again. Secondly, local authorities should take responsibilities for social or environmental impact caused by tourists. Officials should protect communities from the annoyance of tourists, if they do not want to interact with them. They also should solve ecological problems due to tourism in the area, since they receive enough money from this industry in the form of taxes. Therefore, it is unfair to demand tourists to become either socially or environmentally accountable, because they buy expensive holiday packages, which already include the compensation for the problems they can pose.

In conclusion, even though some businessmen believe that local government should exempt tourists from any responsibilities, I think that officials should encourage them to become courteous to communities and environment for the above mentioned reasons.