Mothers generally stay home to take care of their children after pregnancy. Do you support the opinion that these mothers should be compensated by the government?

There is a controversial issue about еру payments to unemployed mothers with infants. Some social workers state that authorities should support them financially, while some politicians think that they should be deprived of any state payment. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of financial backing.

Let us start with reasons why some politicians argue that after pregnancy mothers should receive governmental money. The first reason is that they need money to contribute to family income. Women rarely have the opportunity to work part-time, while they are doing child rearing, so they earn no money for household needs, but with the monetary help from the state they could afford more. Another reason is that many single mothers with infants hardly make ends meet. Many women support their little children alone, which aggravates their and children's existence, so authorities should alleviate their financial burden by providing some money. Therefore, it is reasonable for officials to support mothers with money as a compensation for maternity after pregnancy.

However, some politicians say that the government should not reimburse women at home for motherhood. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, authorities are incapable to assist all mothers. The budget of the country cannot allocate huge fundings for millions of women in maternity, because it is responsible for other essential programs, such as supporting orphans and building social facilities. Secondly, it may create problems to the economy. If officials compensated each woman for being unable to work due to child caring, the budget would suffer from deficiency, which would negatively affect other social programs. As a result, it is irrational to bring changes to the budget in favor of unemployed mothers.

In conclusion, even though some politicians advocate that authorities should abandon any attempt to compensate jobless mothers for motherhood, I think that they should help them, because they usually fail to lead a normal life with no monetary support from the government.