Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people point out that the loss of biodiversity is the worst environmental problem of all time, others assert that other vital environmental problems should be taken into consideration. Both points of view will be discussed in this essay and I will give my opinion afterward.

On the one hand, people believe that losing specific species of plants and animals is the main environmental problem. This belief happens due to the role that these species play in our daily life. They, indeed, help us to moderate the climate and the natural habitat as well as preventing the biological crisis. Since these species are parts of food chains, the loss of them might contribute to the instinct of several animals. Moreover, it is undeniable that the loss of them will be the permanent loss of genes and references for biological and chemical research. Some species play as remedies for some diseases, which contain rare chemicals; therefore, the cure would run out when these species disappear.

On the other hand, other environmental problems should not be overlooked. One of them is global warming. This happens due to a large amount of carbon dioxide from vehicles, factories, air conditioners, greenhouse effects and results in the rise of sea level which would cause the loss of homeland for mankind and natural habitat for numerous species. Another concerning problem is pollution which includes water, air, land. Most of them are mainly caused by human and they do not only slowly destroy the earth but they also cause permanent diseases such as cancer. These problems would lead to the destruction of biodiversity after all.

In conclusion, both sides have merits. On balance, I, however, tend to believe that people should see the big picture rather than assume the biological crisis is the worst problem of all.