Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Every year, millions of employees globally receive monetary bonus owing to the great performance in their respective companies. With the workforce increasing rapidly and becoming more global, these policies needs to be relooked to ensure employee satisfaction is at par. This essay will focus on discussing various attributes associated with such payouts and further sheds light on what can be done to keep employees motivated to perform better.

To a certain extent, giving additional compensation surpasses many other ways of pushing the workforce to a higher level of performance; however, non-monetary benefits elicits support for keeping a healthy competition between employees and not demotivating those who underperform.

On one side of the argument, giving additional salary definitely gives employees the boost to do more, and compete to perform the best. Owing to this, a lot of organisations these days have adapted the pay package to be performance driven. Despite the above arguments, the other side of the coin suggests that it may create a sense of jealousy and discouragement for those who couldn't perform. The reasoning behind this position derives from the fact that there could be various reasons for an employee to not perform well.

Discounting all the efforts and giving extra cash to someone whose work appears more fruitful strongly discourages the workforce.

After considering both sides, better ways now merit some meaningful discussion to push the employees to peform better. One way to look at it would be recognition for good employees; like a congratulations mail from the CEO or applause in the team meetings. In addition, it is proved that giving ownership to employees enhances their drive to be up the curve. Thus, employees could be given better designations and ownership to take initiatives, new projects,and increase a sense of belonging towards the company.

Thus, organizations should look at keeping a balance of healthy compeition and keeping employees motivated bu other means also.