Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.

Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

A conspicuous tendency of reaching out employees during days-off has been reported recently. Nowadays, more and more employers wish their staff to be in touch even on their free time, causing both social and economic issues. These will be further discussed in more detail.

To begin with, the abovementioned phenomenon has a negative social impact. This means that would a person want to spend holidays or weekends with family and friends, or would he/she choose to do volunteer work, this will be barely possible if the employing organization or person continuously bothers them on their available days. As a result, the individual might face barriers while performing their social responsibilities. No wonder many prosperous and affluent countries force companies provide employees with regular and fixed vacations.

Another facet of this trend is the economic effect that may occur, whether workforce is disturbed all the time. Firstly, this would lead to labour becoming demotivated, or even more, wanting to quit their jobs. Such a development of events would upsurge turnover rates within the labour market and would hurt the economy dramatically. Secondly, the less available time an individual has, the more tired and less efficient he/she gets. In terms of business this can raise cost of goods offered by companies, also resulting in inflation. For example, a recent study conducted by Harvard Business School has shown that a properly managed work-life balance increases efficiency and effectiveness at work.

To conclude, in my opinion demerits of connecting to the staff on holidays do exceed the merits and can end up with a negative effect both from social and financial perspectives.