Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality.

Interviews for managerial positions often include evaluation of the interviewee’s personal characteristics, along with his/her professional background. In my opinion, team leader’s personal qualities are essential when assessing if the person is qualifies enough to be a manager. In this essay I shall firstly discuss the importance of being a person of high moral standards and secondly, other soft skills required to be a qualified manager.

As stated above, one of the key factors for being a manager is the system of values a person has adopted. In order words, would a person want to efficiently manage a group of people, he/she should be someone each member of the team trusts and respects. From my own experience, I can tell that I feel more confident and therefore, do a better job when working with a senior colleague, who creates a comfortable and a positive atmosphere in the team.

At the same time, there are other qualities that are significant when considering a person’s candidacy for a leading position within an organization. These qualities include such soft skills, as emotional intelligence, time management skills and ability for coaching. All of these are greatly useful when performing top level tasks. For instance, successful task completion can only be achieved if the team lead does not stress other project members and this way encourages and motivates them to come up with new ideas or solutions. As I have already mentioned, it is also important to be able to meet deadlines without artificially putting too much pressure on the team members. And last, but not least, a good leader has to be skillful enough to pass knowledge top to bottom for their future replacement by the coming generation of specialists.

To sum up, personality is one of the most valuable qualities for a manager, however I believe there are also other skills that need to be developed in order to succeed in such a responsible role.