The prevention of health problems is more important than treatment. Government funding should reflect that.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that government and local authorities should rather take measures to prevent diseases, than to use budgets for curing those. I agree with the former for two reasons. Firstly, it is always easier to detect, than to prevent an issue and secondly, I think a special consideration should be taken when discussing humans' health. This essay will further discuss both arguments.

Various studies have shown that to overcome any problem, it is much more efficient and effective to take the approach of identification and prevention, instead of later detection. With regards to healthcare, this would mean that it will be less costy and more time-saving for government to organize periodic vaccinations and diagnostical procedures, than to provide with free or partially free treatment to a population in an overall poor health condition. For instance, we can compare strategies of the United States and any Scandinavian country and we will see that less money is spent in the latter, however people living there are healthier. Of course, there are more than one reason why people get sick more often in one country, than in the other, but I consider the above-mentioned fact to be the main one.

Besides that, we must not forget that it is people's health and lives that can be endangered, would a wrong healthcare tactic be adopted. Governments are not only responsible for proper fund management, but also it is their responsibility to do their best to have a health and happy population. In my opinion, even if the effect of prevention and defeating a disease is the same in terms of money, no person would choose to get sick and then to recover.

To sum up, I believe it is more beneficial to keep a nation healthy, than to later try to come up with solutions. I am also assured that those charged with governance have enough power and means to help population avoid illnesses and diseases.