Parents are the best teachers

There is a common belief, that parents transfer general skills and knowledge to children in a much better way and more efficiently, than educational institutions do. I share this point of view, too, and will explain my vision further.

There are actually many reasons why moms and dads are the best educators, but I will present only a few in the current essay. First of all, parents and grandparents are the first “instance” of interaction with the surrounding world for children, which makes it easier for kids to absorb information received from them. In other words, at an early age a person’s comfort zone is limited to his/her family. Secondly, it is parents, who know their heir better, than anyone else and, therefore, it is them, who are able to provide with all the necessary information, as well as to help the child to form an understanding of what is good and what is bad. The latter statement is also connected to another argument, which is the fact, that only parents have the right to choose or decide on the system of values their children will form.

However, it is essential to maintain balance over the circle of interaction and communication of younger generation. In my opinion, it is unacceptable to narrow the network of schoolchildren to their relatives only. A person should interact with people of difference ages, faith, opinions in order to become an individual and a complete member of the society. At the same time, it is important to take into account the fact, that one’s mother or father cannot specialize on all studies and fields, which makes the role of teachers irreplaceable and extremely valuable.

To conclude, I would like to emphasize the importance of both children’s right to interact with their parents, and their right to communicate with the outer world. After all, educational system has been developing for centuries, and there is a reason for schools to exist and to be so popular up to these days.