Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

You should write at least 250 words.

School uniforms are mandatory for students in certain high schools while some schools allow students to dress casually. Whether or not schools should make uniforms compulsory is highly debatable. This essay will discuss why wearing uniforms to school is superior with relevant examples and evidence to support this argument.

Firstly, uniforms display a sense of discipline and seriousness. It subtly encourages the child to form a routine and follow it diligently, thereby reinforcing the importance of education. For instance, students often look up to doctors, pilots, scientists and learn that wearing a uniform comes with commitment and responsibility. This will help students to take schooling more formally and diligently. Moreover, this could also help parents save time in getting their kids dressed in the morning.

Secondly, wearing casual outfits to school can create a lot of conflicts due to the disparity between the students that come from a wealthy family as opposed to those who don’t. For the latter, the kids can feel less privileged and act out which could further lead to bullying or fights in school. For example, there have been many cases of bullying in some countries for this very reason. Implementing standard clothing for all the students will encourage equality and healthy competition amongst children.

To conclude, school policies that include uniforms are far better than those that don’t, primarily because it helps lay a more disciplined behaviour amongst kids and at the same time avoid a casual approach to learning and education.