Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology such as smartphones and computers. Write the causes and propose solutions

Many senior citizens have to make a great effort for taking advantage of the latest technological devices especially mobile phones and computers. The difficulty for using these is mainly due to the lack of information about the technology and the biological challenges, which can be solved in two simple ways.

One main reason why people are facing challenges in managing modern devices in their old ages is that they have not been synchronizing themselves with the recent changes in modern technology. As a result, they have had a knowledge gap in the sense of the practical operation of the device, and they cannot perceive the benefits of this scientific discovery. Another cause is biological challenges; they start to feel multiple complications after the fifties. The latest mobile phone with touch screen technology, for instance, might not be operated perfectly by an old man because it requires commanding based on what it shows on the screen in order to get the actual output.

There are two pragmatic approaches to overcome obstacles regarding the use of recently developed electronic devices. Firstly, there should have some schools for old people where they can learn new programs, operating systems, and other technological advancements. Secondly, family members should provide such a device that the elderly can use conveniently. For example, a laptop with a keypad is more appropriate for them instead of a touch screen device.

To recapitulate, although they face many hardships particularly when using modern technological devices, it can be solved if the people of society help them properly.