Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they that the children should only read serious educational book. What is your opinion?

There is not doubt that reading comprehension is an important skill that every student should acquire to excel in their career. However, some opine that students, who read books for entertaining purpose, are literally wasting their precious time while their academic lessons are pending. This essay will evaluate this aspect and reach at a sensible conclusion.

To begin with, acquiring knowledge is a time-consuming process, and one's entire life is not enough to gain a deep knowledge in a subject. In such situation, some parents argue that allowing students to read insignificant books for fun is irrational and is a total wastage of their priceless time. On the other hands, many of the entertaining books are also informative. For example, Balarama, a children's weekly comic magazine, helps many a student to pick up their language skills in more pleasurable way, and, thus, these students become more competent in their sphere.

Besides, for many students, reading books for entertainment acts as a catalyst of their success, for these books facilitate them in reducing pressure that academic subjects exert on their personal life. To exemplify, a study conducted by an Indian university revealed that when a student actively engages in an activity for a considerable amount of time, his concentration level starts to diminish gradually with respect to time axis. In order to overcome from such a situation, reading other pleasurable books, except academic books, will refresh their thought and avail them to be more active.

To sum up, even though studying academic lessons is an inevitable task of every students for their career, allocating a significant duration of time for reading other books is also important for their success by refreshing their brain and acquiring knowledge outside their curriculum. As such, it helps many a man to be more competent and creative in nature.