t has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a debatable topic over the years about the benefits that a person acquired though reading books to that of watching television. Many say this reading habit can improve one's cognitive abilities as well as communication skills while others opine that visual media, television, has a major impact on people. This essay will examine and reach at a sensible conclusion.

To begin with, watching television is more convenient task, which requires comparatively less effort to execute. For example, by watching a debate on television as a leisure activity, one can relax as well as gather knowledge about the topic, and ,thus, he can enhance his creativity and language skills. On the other hand, there is a chance that these people might divert from their primary responsibilities, and, thus, the qualities they have acquires through actively engaging in watching television programs remain unused.

Reading as a leisure activity, however, requires a lot of commitments and concentration to make the task more pleasurable. As the result of this effort, the imaginative capacity of a person will expand and, thus, it helps him to excel in his career. In addition to that, reading enhances the vocabulary range of an individual, for books provide a wide verity of words through an interesting manner and it helps him to be an expert in the language. As such, in order to expand one's horizons of knowledge, reading books as a hobby is always an advisable activity.

To sum up, although watching television at free time is more convenient and easy way of acquiring knowledge in a language and enhancing innovating thoughts, reading books is far more beneficial for people in the long run as it improves not only their concentration level but also their vocabulary range. In such a way, the overall productivity of a society can be increased.