Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Nowadays, it is a common practice for parents to provide their children with plenty of toys. Though there are several advantages to this such as getting some free time for themselves, there are also some disadvantages. This essay will portray both the benefits and drawbacks associated.

To start with, there are a number of advantages of buying many toys. One primary advantage is the children will be busy with the variety of options that they have. This will allow the parents to enjoy some leisure time with each other or on their own. For example, young girls can spend hours playing house games like cooking and make up, while boys can be engaged with their toy cars or planes.

However, there are some disadvantages as well. Children fail to value their toys as they get them easily. This may result in the children being spoiled as they fail to appreciate the effort or the cost of the toys. For example, I have noticed children breaking toys or throwing them out of the window once they are bored of playing with them or if they want a new toy. They tend to become demanding and throw tantrums in public places when they see a new toy in the store which can become an embarrassing situation for a parent. These problems can be overcome if the parents can take some time to explain the youngsters the effort it takes to earn the money for the toys and that they should take care of the play things.

In conclusion, though it is convenient to keep children occupied with a variety of toys, they should also be taught to value and take care of the toys they have which will in a way contribute to their psychological development.