Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Many parents purchase a plenty number of toys for their children to enjoy with. This essay will discuss advantages of having so many toys for children such as child staying active and learning new things from them. Conversely, there are many disadvantages of these many toys as well including but not limited to turning this into a bad habit of high demands and less social attachment.

To begin with, children who have abundant amount of toys stays engaged with them. They rarely get bored with them as every toy offers different fun from the other. Additionally, these toys are often educational as they teach kids how to operate various machines or are somewhat replica of real life equipment. For example, toys like Lego provide information about how to build houses or apartments and are so intuitive that these children widely enjoy them. For these reasons having so many toys keeps the child engaged towards any task and also provides a plethora of information that is useful for them.

On the other hand, however, there are many disadvantages and one of them is children can get easily spoiled. As parents pamper kids by gifting so many toys, they always expect that they will have everything in abundance in their life and end up getting disappointed if their demand is not fulfilled. Statistics has also proved that the children who had large number of toys have higher tendency of getting into depression if they have shortage of anything. Furthermore, if children are playing with their toys all the time, they don’t go out to make many friends. They are always attached with materialistic items and don’t understand importance of having a social life.

In conclusion, it is evident that there are merits and demerits of having great number of toys. This can make the child energetic and active and also can be educated with useful toys. However, having too much exposure can also spoil them and often limit their social circle in future.