Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. WHAT are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys.

It might be a mixed blessing for a child to have an enormous number of toys, which are being brought to them by their fosters. The merits and demerits of such a trend will be discussed below.

On the one hand, allowing children to have whatever games that they want may has its positive sides. First and foremost, games are a great source for teaching youngsters a plenty of abilities. Majority of people have learnt the basics of numeracy and literacy through playing with toys; therefore, games enhance cognitive abilities as well as knowledge. Second, when children get the chance to choose their own toys, they are more likely to become more independent. To illustrate, they can experience the sense of responsibility as they depend on themselves to select what suits their individual characteristics. Overall, presence of variable toys can lead to a well-developed child.

On the other hand, owing vast numbers of toys may have some drawbacks, one of which is raising a highly demanding personality. That is to say, a child who is used to have everything may grow up to be a selfish person who always asks for more, and this can burden the shoulders of people around them. In addition, such a huge amount of toys, without careful guidance, could waste children’s time. Consequently, their school progression can be adversely affected. Therefore, recent research suggests that young people should obtain a limited collection of toys in order to not affect neither their personalities nor their school performance.

To conclude, a variety of toys may influence children’s significantly in some ways including boosting their intellectual abilities and independence. However, they may induce some negative impacts as well.