Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

These days, parents are becoming increasingly lenient. They do not impose sufficient discipline on their children and in some cases buy them too many things. This essay will outline how it is not good way to raise children and its negative effects on them in future.

One of the main reason permitting children to do anything is not good way of parenting is that children may develop to grow as an immature adult and may lack the sense of responsibility. The parents themselves give sense of entitlement and control over them to their children by fulfilling whatever they need. The children become mischievous as he understands that he will not be punished for any wrong doing. Also buying too much toys for them makes their children materialistic and does not offer the same change to develop social skills like sharing. For instance, children start to shape and develop themselves in their own way without proper discipline or principles which can be dangerous in their adult stage. In short, parents must impose certain rules and discipline to encourage their kids to develop into mature and responsible adult.

If the parents continue to do parenting in such permissive style, their children will grow with different values and morals than those of stringent parents. Children who are never forced to rectify their mistakes will end up continuing to make bigger mistakes and may lead to do something which can be proved disaster in their life at a later stage. Without any discipline and boundaries children often tends to poor grades in their school. For example, if the children are not being taught to avoid the constant watching of mobile or any digital screens for longer hours they may develop poor learning skills and inferior personality which is not good for their academic and social life in their adult stage. In other words, lenient way of parenting has adverse effects on their children in their adulthood such as poor learning skills and low academic grades.

In conclusion, although parents always want to fulfil their children wish, they must set certain rules and boundaries while raising them. If the parents fail to impose basic level of discipline it can have adverse effect on children’s adult life.