Some parents do not want their children to work part time while in school so that they can
concentrate on their studies. Other parents believe their kids should learn to manage study and work
duties as this teaches them certain skills they cannot learn at school and therefore better prepared them for
the real world.
Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views.
Some parents argue that school is the best time and place to gain knowledge and practical skills should
therefore be their children’s sole focus. Other parents want their kids to gain practical experiences, namely by
way of employment, in addition to theoretical knowledge. Both perspectives have merits and drawbacks, as this essay will demonstrate.
Having a job provides/arm young people with many useful tools, among which are time-management,
networking, and multitasking skills. These tools are essential components of one’s career, regardless of
occupational goals. While it can be argued that students with part time work risk not having sufficient time to
dedicate to their academic projects, those who learn to balance their studies and work schedules will be better
able to manage their careers and home lives in the future as a result. Take, for instance, working mothers: they
maintain home while performing their work tasks at a professional level. In contrast, kids who only studied,
without the added responsibilities of work, might find it more difficult to adjust to the new reality of adulthood.
Conversely, the focused students likely achieve better academic results, thereby securing admission to
higher-tier schools and, consequently, better employment opportunities. Moreover, they ability to focus on one
thing at a time will be reflected in their ability to complete tasks at a higher level of proficiency. One may argue
that the modern workplace demands a higher level of soft skills, where these “professional” students, unlike their
peers who may develop these skills through their interactions with a greater variety of people, might come up
short. Yet, as careers become increasingly specialized, the ability to hone particular skills may ultimately trump sociability.
In conclusion, both approaches to employment during school have positive and negative aspects. While the
part time workers may gain more practical and social skills, the academic students benefit from a better focus on
their tasks.