Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road.

Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

According to a few individuals, the public roads should be unoccupied at least once in a month. The automobile transportation and the non-government transporters should not be permitted on the highways. To an extent, having no movement of four wheeler s for a day will have its own merits and demerits

Once in a while, controlling the road network will have some benefit on the environment by minimizing air pollution. As we know various mixtures of noxious gases are emitted by the vehicles such as carbon monoxide, which have affected the health of human beings distinctly by causing various respiratory disorders. Apart from this it has also had bad impacts on the surroundings as well. Hence restraining the transportation will help in reducing the pollution to some extent. For example, the toxic substances released by these vehicles have started to affect the ozone layer and worsened the greenhouse effect.

To restrict the vehicles for some time may cause conflicts among people to some extent. In an emergency situation, while transferring a bleeding patient to the hospital, a person will not prefer to use public transportation, rather, they would like to reach their destinations on time, in their own vehicle. For example, in developing countries like India, there are lots of remote villages which do not have frequent access to the government buses. Hence during a crisis, it is better to use a personal four-wheeler instead.

In conclusion, trying to control the traffic by limiting the usage of two-wheeler s and four-wheeler s will definitely contribute in reducing the ecological impact on global warming. But at the same time completely restricting the locals to opt for public services during the time of urgency may turn in to a fear. Hence the rules should be different for an emergency.