It is argued by some that the death penalty benefits a nation. I completely agree with this statement because, it is an effective means to reduce crime, and less money would spend on jail sector.

The most significant plus point of highest punishment is that it is an effective deterrent to serious crime. This is because, it instils fear of carrying out serious crimes as people would not want to lose their life as a result of that. For example, people who are thinking of murder or committing violent acts will think hundred times before doing so. As a result of this policy, crime rate would go down.

Another advantage of this sentence is that the government will be able to spent less money on keeping the criminal in prison. If the criminal is jailed for many years or for life, the government need to pay for the enormous expenses involved such as the cost of food for the prisoners, and the salaries for the prison officers. However, with the death sentence, the prisoner will spend less time in prison and this would reduce the cost of imprisonment substantially.

Lastly, with the capital punishment, the dangerous criminal would never be able to reoffend. The reason for this is that executed criminals will no longer be alive; therefore, they will never pose a threat to society ever again. This would make society a safer place.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the opinion that sentencing serious criminals to death is beneficial for countries as it will reduce crime, save huge amounts of money of government as well as we can keep dangerous criminals out of society forever.