Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams always achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think the success is more related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Sports, by nature, involve intense competition and people often debate the factors which determine the outcome of a sports match. Some hold the opinion that supreme physical strength enables one to win, while others believe that only those who possess a winning attitude can be successful. In my opinion, physical abilities are as important as the right mindset.

On the one hand, superior strength gives athletes an edge over their peers when it comes to physical confrontation. For example, in a sport like football, players have to physically confront their competitors, and hence those who demonstrate greater physical strength are more likely to win / succeed. Boxing is another game that requires immense physical strength and endurance. A stronger boxer naturally has faster punching speed and higher punching power, which enable them to easily knock down their rivals. Physical strength also imparts higher levels of endurance which is essential for athletes to maintain their performance for a long time. This is important in almost all games because players who get tired easily cannot achieve much regardless of their talent.

On the other hand, a winning mindset is also of great importance. To be specific, in a fierce competition, the player who is falling behind will have high levels of stress. If they cannot maintain the positive attitude, the immense pressure will overtake their natural ability to perform and they will lose even if they possess excellent stamina. This is because our mind controls our body and once the mind accepts defeat, the body can achieve hardly anything.

In conclusion, fitness and spirit both play significant roles in ensuring success in sports. A strong body improves an athlete’s ability to confront physically, while an optimistic mindset and intense craving for success ultimately enable them to win.