Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other
people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Consider these opposing
views, and give your own opinion.
It is often said that children benefit from caring for domestic animals, especially in today’s technologyfocussed
world. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the
idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view.
On the one hand, those who support the ownership of pets cite the various benefits that the activity
can bring to a child. These range from understanding nutrition, to learning about biology and daily routines.
For example, food selection and exercise activities contribute to this strand of development, which adds greatly
to a child’s all-round education. Another argument is the emotional support that children receive from pets,
meaning that the child feels more secure and thus more confident.
By contrast, opponents of this view point out that not all children live in a situation where pet
keeping is advisable, or even possible. Examples can be seen in less affluent countries, where the expense of
maintaining a pet may be prohibitive. In addition, many children live in unstable family environments, due to
such issues as unemployment or political turbulence. For these families, pets would probably suffer neglect,
meaning that it would be unfair to keep them, or possibly even dangerous. Finally, it must be said that not all
young people actually want to keep a pet, because their interests lie elsewhere. For these youngsters, animal
ownership should not be encouraged.
Overall, it seems advisable that the decision to keep a pet should be based on a child’s interest, ability
and family circumstances, rather than on a general view that ‘all children’ should have animals. It would appear
that this serves the interests of both the children and the pets involved.