Some People believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Educational competence is considered to be the utmost requirement for children now a day. Parents are quite keen about their children’s education as well as they keep an eye on their leisure activities, because they don’t want their children to waste their time at the cost of education. I tend to disagree with this belief of the people that leisure activities of children could affect their studies if they are not educational. This point will be established by analyzing the facts that leisure activities have their own importance in personality grooming of children as well as these are the major source of entertainment for children.

One of the important aspects is that education is not all about reading, Writing & getting good marks in exams; rather it is grooming process of children. Leisure activities like chatting, Sports & travelling/outing helps children to gain a vast exposure of different aspects of life. As an example, if the children give a proportionate attention to both Studies and other Sports or outing activities they would gain variety of experience that elevates them a balanced personality. An imbalanced personality would live most probably an imbalanced life. It demonstrates that free time activities are equally important as education is.

Another angle of looking into it is that modern education is getting complex & tough with every passing day. Children have to spend major part of the day with books to enable themselves to compete with other students. The study pressure keeps on building which ultimately causes stress amongst the students. In this situation, some extracurricular healthy activities enable children to reduce their study pressures as well they relax them. They feel quite energetic and active during studies, as a result it perks up their studies & enable them to compete and succeed. This proves the fact, that leisure activities help children’s education in productive way& these are not wastage of time anymore.

Following the analyses above, the factors like character building and stress management due to leisure activities prove their significance in Children’s life. Educational Activities are very important for children to stand on the merits of today’s competitive environment. But free time Positive activities like sports, travelling & music should be permitted to the children in order to enhance their learning skills in life.