Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

An all-round education system of any institution is only considered as a complete one, when there is a balance between studies and leisure activities for the children. However, a changing trend has been observed which believes that leisure activities are a complete waste of time if they are not educational. I strongly disagree with this notion and believe that it should be a vital part of all educational institutions.

Firstly, exercise and leisure activities hold a very important part in the personal development of a child. Sports like running, swimming, basketball, football involves burning of calories and keeps them fit. Fun activities like drawing, painting and games relax the mind which increases the grasping power. For example, the statistical studies of last three years shows that obesity is one of the most leading diseases among the teenagers and undoubtedly lack of physical exercise has contributed a major role.

Secondly, fun and games strengthens the bonding among the children. They mingle and talk freely with each other which increase the communication and reduce the gap between them. Children get united as they start liking each other’s company. They wait for the weekends to enjoy and have fun together. A main contribution have to come from the parents as well as they should take the first initiative to make sure that their children are involved in extracurricular activities and not pressurized only with studies to achieve good grades.

To conclude, educational and leisure activities are both important for the children. They collectively play a vital role in a successful education system. Therefore, the government should make sure that a sufficient amount of time is spared weekly by the schools for fun and leisure activities for all children. Healthy individual’s leads to healthy society and this will avoid any problems in future.