Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they

are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Extra-curricular activities are really necessary for the mental and physical growth and creativity of children but some people have the concept that they must be related to academics otherwise they are not worth the time of their children and are a burden on them. I, however, disagree with this notion and believe that recreational activities help in the growth and improvement of capabilities of children and bring out their hidden talents.

Recreational activities apart from studies help the children nourish their capabilities and provide them an opportunity to explore their hidden interests and undiscovered talents. Ventures like trips, painting competitions and sports bring out the enthusiasm in children and releases the pressure of studies off of their minds. There is no denying the benefits of exercising such hustles as they help cordon off the burden of studies and provide fresh start. Once, I could not prepare myself for studies as the exams were approaching, so the university organized a trip to a beautiful valley, Naran to freshen up the students and awake a new zeal in them. This actually helped a lot of pupils to start studying after having some time off.

As it is a proven fact that excess of anything is bad. So, in order to avoid developing the habits of extra entertainment, there some control must be impose to limit the leisure activities to a certain extent. Adventures should be kept according to the age and requirement of the pupils enjoying them. For example, skydiving should not be offered to school going kids since the risk of falling is higher as they have less control and strength. They should be held under proper check and supervision of seniors.

To sum up, I pen down saying that recreational activities are very necessary for the development and relaxation of children’s brains and bodies. A balance between studies and pleasure should be maintained for students to enjoy all aspects of life.