Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time. Others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing goods that are cheap. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain people are of the view that manufacturing of long lasting products ought to be the main goal of companies. However others think that importance should be given to manufacturing affordable products. In my opinion, producing long lasting goods should be encouraged as it offers advantages for consumers and the environment.

On one hand, manufacturing of high quality products benefits the consumers in the form of availability of durable products. As such products function for a longer time period, people do not require the need to replace or repair them over a period of time, saving consumers money. Moreover, such good quality products are discarded less often and do not add up to already existing waste products, thereby, benefiting the environment.

For instance, If plastic products are made of good quality, they will be less discarded by people as compared to low quality one time plastic products.

On other hand, factories producing less expensive products help to maintain equality in the society. In other words, this enables people from lower income groups to buy and utilise the same but cheap products which their rich counterparts are using. For example, there are innumerable cheap brands of consumer goods available in the market. Furthermore, availability of low priced products spurs economic growth in a country. As there is greater demand for low priced products, it leads to more manufacturing and, thereby greater employment.

A close examination of both the views reveal that it is necessary to undertake production of durable products to prevent the society from becoming a ‘throw away’ society .

In conclusion, although many people vary in their opinions, I believe that manufacturing good quality products is the need of the hour if we are to save the environment and people’s hard earned money.