Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers. Others think that it depends on the attitude of the students. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether a great teacher or the students’ attitude towards their study is the real backbone of individuals’ educational success. I believe students’ success depends mostly on their attitude.

It is understandable why people say that teachers are the foundation stones of students’ success. One reason is that many successful scholars have credited their tutors for the achievements when sharing their studying stories. This makes other people assume that teachers are the main attribution to the academic success by dedicating most of their time transferring a sizable amount of knowledge and information. In Vietnam, for example, a majority of English learners believe that only teachers from language centers could help them ace the IELTS because of many references and promotions from high-score test takers.

However, I side with those who think that educational success depends on the students’ attitude. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that if people are not determined to improve themselves, they will likely not achieve any success regardless of how much effort the teachers put in. In fact, people should understand that the underlying factor of many successful stories lies in the perseverance of reaching the study goals. After receiving lessons in classes, these extraordinary scholars still spend hours processing information at home alone. That is why they completely grasp what is taught and successfully score the exams while others tend to quit midway simply because they lose interest in their goals and feel bored.

In conclusion, I assert that it is mainly the students’ attitude to achieve success in their academic path. Having that said, the role of devoted and passionate teachers in delivering valuable lessons should not be underestimated.