To retire or to not retire at sixty years? This is a sensitive topic that has both social and economic impact. In this essay, we will discuss the positive and negative aspects of retiring at sixty years.

Considering that the average life expectancy of individuals if at least eighty years in a country like India, there are some advantages to not retire at sixty. Firstly, if you continue to work even after sixty years, then there is less burden on the social welfare schemes that the government supports. This in turn, ensures that pensioners are not a burden on young population of tax payers. Secondly, after investing about thirty years of your life in acquiring the skills and degrees to pursue a career as a doctor or a scientist, it would be a colossal waste all the experience that they acquired, we the society cannot utilize it to the optimal level.

However, there are certain advantages to retire at sixty years. There is more to life than work, leading a healthy life is also crucial. For example, the stress at work can impact your physical and mental well being. The risks of diseases such as heart attack, and diabetes are quite high over fifty years and if one continues to work, it might be detrimental to their health. Additionally, in the ever changing world it is always difficult to keep pace with technological advancement at work and compete with young professional who have the zeal and energy to perform better.

In conclusion, although there are advantages to not retire at sixty, such as achieving professional goals and being economically independent, I think it is better to retire when you are at sixty and enjoy a peaceful and relaxed retired life.