Sports not only bring the thrill in peoples’ life but also keep them physically fit. It is believed by some that the life threatening sports activities should be prohibited by the government, while others argue that it will restrict the freedom of choice. This essay will discuss both sides of the views.

It is argued by some that the dangerous sports, such as paragliding and sky diving, should be banned by the government. This is because, in the case of accidents, these sports can lead to permanent disability or even death. Those who favor this opinion think that people, especially youngsters, are naive and they do not understand what is best for them, and therefore, it is the responsibility of the government to ensure their safety by putting a restriction on high-risk sports.

Conversely, others reckon that people should have the liberty to choose the kind of sports they want to play. Many studies have shown that playing high-risk sports decreases stress-hormone and boost confidence levels. In fact, there is a certain amount of risk in every kind of game. This can be illustrated with the recent event wherein a cricket umpire was hit by a ball and lost his life after suffering a brain stroke. In brief, none of the games are entirely safe; therefore, it will be unfair to ban specific sports.

To conclude, although some sports are considered more unsafe as compared to others, outlawing them will impact peoples’ fundamental right to freedom of choice. This essay discussed why on the one hand some sports should be prohibited, and why on the other hand this might not be an appropriate solution.