Some people believe that government should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since ancient times, libraries have been in tradition and intrinsic part of education institutes and societies. With the advent of modern technology such as internet, computer etc…, people believe that libraries are losing its importance and any expenditure on library is of no use. I shall explain both viewpoints in this essay.

Despite the advancements in accessing information using internet from anywhere, some people prefer to go to library and support that government should provide aids for building libraries in every town. First of all, not every citizen is well versed with the use of computer and internet. Particularly, old people still don’t know how to access the information through internet and visit library daily for reading newspaper, journals, books etc. Secondly, lots of the places in the world lack the required infrastructure to use internet and computer. Especially, under developed and developed countries are struggling with basic infrastructure such as power, clean water, road & transport etc. and people assert that accessing internet for information is not viable option. For example, in African countries, only urban population have limited access of internet and for rural, a dream may come true in coming years. Finally, accessing information in library is cost effective in contrast to getting information from websites. Even today, people borrow the books from library at nominal cost or read at the library at free of cost.

However, people argue that everything is accessible using technology and hold views that setting up library is wastage for everyone as majority of schools and people use smart phone and other devices. Libraries occupy the lots of space mainly in city center which could be used for other purpose such as gym, theater, training center so that people get utmost benefits from public facilities. Furthermore, maintenance of library requires recurring cost which is huge sum amount and should be spent on health or improving the infrastructure which will helps people in long term. Also, finding information in library is more difficult than internet. Moreover, even libraries are using the internet and computer to arrange their set-up.

To sum up, libraries are still popular and used by many people. But, it is also true that access information over internet is very handy and open infinite sources to search the information. Therefore, government should provide limited funds to library as more and more people have started to use the internet.