Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others
think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important.
Discuss both views.
In this modern world, perspectives of how to keep animals are varied
between people. Some people think about caging them in zoos or forests while
others think it is illogical to limit animals’ movements. I am going to discuss
these views according to environmental, personal and economic perspectives.
Keeping some animals in zoos will protect them against predators, bad
weather, and food availability. Nevertheless, keeping animals free is more
logical than isolating them because if we keep animals caged, they would not
be able to have fresh air and chase other animals. Therefore, it is cruel keeping
animals confined in small spaces. It is advisable to put our efforts into keeping
our creatures in their natural habitats, in order to give them the opportunity to
experience normal life.
Keeping animals is essential because some animals are in fact becoming
extinct. Although keeping these animals is costly, the profits made by keeping
these animals are substantial. Take Indian lions for example; a wide range of
people travel to India to see these animals in circuses in India. However, some
people think that governments should invest the money in improving the
infrastructure of their nations instead. Building new electrical power station,
for instance, is more important than spending thousands of pounds to
preserve certain creatures from extinction.
Lastly, keeping animals is important for study and research whereas others
think we have no right to use animals for entertainment and in labs.
To conclude, keeping animals in zoos might have many values but it is irrational
to keep these animals away from their natural habitat. The reasons are that
besides they are not vulnerable creatures, they have the right to survive
independently because of having feelings and emotions as a human.