Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the last decade, we have witnessed crime in most countries increasing at an alarming rate. While some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime, I along with many others believe in alternative ways to curb it such as death sentences. I will be discussing both the views in my essay today whie highlighting my reason of belief in death sentences.

Some people feel that the best way to punish a crime is long prison sentences due to the simple reason of increased suffering. A highetened period of suffering gives criminals the time to introspect and realise the crime they have committed. While that may not always teach them a lesson, it makes them re think their sole purpose of life. Although there are many examples of cases that have come out clean through this way, I still believe that may not be enough for certain unforgivable crimes such as rape, which is precisely why I think that there are other ways of reducing crime rate such as death sentences.

In my opinion, alternative ways such as death sentences are the best way reduce such horrendous crimes. I feel that it is the only justifiable way to punish such criminals for the sheer amount of loss and pain they could have caused to the victim's families. And from what I have witnessed in my country, India, the number of rape cases have reduced by 10% just be announcing death sentences. Which is why I strong believe this is the only true way to reduce crime.

As all things, there are always two sides to every opinion. Even though some people believe crime can be reduced by longer prison sentences, my opinion is stronger amongst people who believe in alternative ways such as death sentences and I think that sends out a strong message to criminals committing dangerous crimes.