Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, many developed nations have introduced a notion of digital education; where students are given digital devices such as tablets and laptops for the reading purposes. Many people have appreciated this platform, while there are some who contend that children should read through printed materials. In this essay, I am going to highlight both the aspects and share my opinion on the same.

To start with, those who take the side of online reading, might state that it is a convenient approach. As students once learn operation of the digital device, it will become easier for them to navigate and read any part of the text and perform other functions. For instance, pupils can highlight certain text and record notes efficiently, which is mentioned in the class by their teachers. Perhaps, this can be advantageous for the purpose of skimming while reading. Therefore, some people are optimistic about this method of reading.

Nevertheless, In my view reading through printed source is truly beneficial. Firstly, it is easy to comprehend lengthy text from books or notes. This is because, understanding the details of long text from the books or notes are useful in comparison to electronic-reading. For example, in a recent published study, same article is given to two different groups of students however, one read through book and another from laptop. After questioning students from both the groups, it concluded that students who read through printed material have good comprension of the subject compare to those who studied through electronic device. Secondly, going through printed notes put less strain on eyes compared to the online reading.

In conclusion, while studying through digital devices can be feasible and helps in scanning text quickly, in my opinion, using printed materials for reading is not only healthy for eyes but also helpful in understanding the meaning of text.