Some people believe that in order to give opportunities to new generation companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Do you agree or disagree? Why?

Setting an age for retirement, at 55, has been a controversial decision for modern enterprises. Many believe younger generations should be provided with the opportunity to advance in their career with employees retiring at 55 years old. My opinions lean towards the disagreement of such enforcement.

There are advantages and disadvantages with such implementation. New generations have the capability to bring innovative ideas to the company, bearing the level of authority to form changes could lead the company a whole new level. The success of such would uplift the self-esteem and independence. Notwithstanding this, motivation is driven out, from the new generations, by aiming to advance in their career. On the other hand, eradicate elder employees would not be beneficial to the company when younger members are not ready to step into the roles, it could diminish the confidence in that person.

Senior staffs have wealth of knowledge and experience, both soft-skills and technical skills, through hand-on practices and these have unimaginable impacts when company is at risk. Company typically would experience cycles of culture changes and experience from senior members would provide guidance to avoid unnecessary industrial relations. Technology advancement nowadays leads to growing populations of over 55 and living longer, up to 80 or 90 years old, demonstrating the elders are capable in working for a while longer. By removing them from their jobs could change the mental status of elders, which could bring negative impact to the society.

Instead of imposing strict retirement at 55, senior staffs should be offered to extend their service until its deemed appropriate for younger generations to be promoted to ensure a sustainable future for the company. Further, I believe providing the role of mentors or advisor to young leaders, providing guidance, would assist the growth of the company.